Library Session

In today’s library session, there was a lot of talk about the databases and other sources available to the students at JWU.  All of this information will be very useful while compiling information from many different sources during the research process.  I really like the the library catalog doesn’t only search for books located in the JWU stacks; it looks for online articles, magazines, videos, and various other source mediums.  I feel the databases are going to be the most useful to me.  With a topic that is still under scrutiny, there probably is  not a lot of literature in the stacks.  Most of my information will come from news articles and other similar sources discussing the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Restoration Act, President Obama’s first piece of legislation.  It is also good to know that theses sources are still available to us when the library is closed, that way our schedules do not have to be planned around library hours to ensure all necessary research is completed.  I feel that I will be frequenting the GREENR and Academic Search Complete databases more than any of the other ones that are available.  I have checked both of these out and they both have a lot of information on my research topic that comes from various sources.  Since these databases are so broad, there will be a variety of information on any topic that needs researching.

Leave a comment